Award

Werner Herzog Film Award

Once a year the Foundation offers the Werner Herzog Film Award in cooperation with the Film Archive Munich. The award presentation ceremony will take place at the Film Archive in Munich and will be accompanied by a symposium. The award is meant for innovative works by filmmakers all around the world.

The Werner Herzog Film Award endows Euro 5.000 which can be increased in individual cases. The Foundation and Werner Herzog nominate the jury in cooperation with the Film Archive Munich and determine the procedure for the selection of the laureate.

The prize can go to a feature film, a documentary, a filmmaker, an actor, or anyone working in the art of cinema. It will be given to a special achievement in innovation, courage and vision. The award is open to citizens of all countries. There is no application procedure, and no competition.

Award 2021
Regrettably I must inform you that there will be no award of my Foundation this year.

Nevertheless, we are going ahead with the planning for the “Weekend of the Foundation” October 15-17, 2021. I will show parts of my new and yet unfinished film as work-in-progress, as well as the films „Ballade vom kleinen Soldaten“ and „Mein liebster Feind“, which will be accompanied by readings from my two new books.

more

Award 2020
The Werner Herzog Film Award 2020 goes to GARAGENVOLK (Garage People) by Natalija Yefimkina

more

Award 2019
The Werner Herzog Film Award 2019 goes to ERNST REIJSEGER

more

Award 2018
The Werner Herzog Film Award 2018 goes to LILIANA DIAZ CASTILLO and ESTEPHANIA BONNETT ALONSO


LILIANA DIAZ CASTILLO

ESTEPHANIA BONNETT ALONSO

more

Award 2017
The Werner Herzog Film Award 2017 goes to THE RIDER by Chloé Zhao

more

Award 2016
THe Werner Herzog Film Award 2016 goes to WE COME AS FRIENDS by Hubert Sauper

more

Filmpreis

Werner Herzog Filmpreis

Die Stiftung verleiht einmal jährlich in Kooperation mit dem Filmmuseum München und in deren Räumlichkeiten den Werner Herzog Filmpreis. Die Preisverleihung und das sie begleitende Symposion erfolgen mit Blick auf die Bewahrung, Pflege und Verbreitung des filmischen und literarischen Werks von Werner Herzog. Mit dem Filmpreis sollen insbesondere innovative Arbeiten von Filmemachern ausgezeichnet werden.

Der Werner Herzog Filmpreis ist mit 5.000 Euro dotiert. Die Stiftung kann diese Dotation im Einzelfall erhöhen. Die Stiftung bestimmt durch Werner Herzog in Kooperation mit dem Filmmuseum München die Mitglieder der Jury, das Procedere für die Auswahl des/der Preisträger/in und für die Preisverleihung.

Der Preis kann an Spielfilme, Dokumentarfilme, an einen Filmemacher, Schauspieler oder an Personen jeder Nationalität vergeben werden, die mit Mut, Entschlossenheit und Visionen im und um den Film herum arbeiten. Es gibt keine Anmeldevorschriften und keinen Wettbewerb.

Filmpreis 2021
Leider muss ich sagen, dass es heuer keinen Filmpreis meiner Stiftung geben wird.

Trotzdem wird das Wochenende vom 15.-17.10.2021 im Filmmuseum in München wieder ganz im Zeichen der Stiftung stehen. Ich werde eine neue Filmarbeit, die noch nicht ganz fertiggestellt ist, als „work in progress“ zeigen, sowie die Filme „Ballade vom kleinen Soldaten“ und „Mein liebster Feind“, dazu werden dann Lesungen aus meinen beiden neuen Büchern stattfinden.

mehr

Filmpreis 2020
Der Werner Herzog Filmpreis 2020 geht an GARAGENVOLK von Natalija Yefimkina

mehr

Filmpreis 2019
Der Werner Herzog Filmpreis 2019 geht an ERNST REIJSEGER

mehr

Filmpreis 2018
Der Werner Herzog Filmpreis 2018 geht an LILIANA DIAZ CASTILLO und ESTEPHANIA BONNETT ALONSO


LILIANA DIAZ CASTILLO

ESTEPHANIA BONNETT ALONSO

mehr

Filmpreis 2017
Der Werner Herzog Filmpreis 2017 geht an Chloé Zhao für THE RIDER

mehr

Filmpreis 2016
Der Werner Herzog Filmpreis 2016 geht an Hubert Saupert für WE COME AS FRIENDS

mehr