The Werner Herzog Film Award 2017 goes to
THE RIDER by Chloé Zhao

The Werner Herzog Film Award, an annual award endowed with a sum of Euro 5,000, can go to a feature film, a documentary, a filmmaker, an actor, or anyone working in the art of cinema. It will be given to a special achievement in innovation courage, and vision. The award is open to citizens of all countries. There is no application procedure, and no competition.

The Werner Herzog Foundation Award 2017 goes to

Chloé Zhao for THE RIDER

© Joshua James Richards

After suffering a near fatal head injury, a young cowboy undertakes a search for new identity and what it means to be a man in the heartland of America.

Director: Chloé Zhao
Writer: Chloé Zhao
Stars: Brady Jandreau, Tim Jandreau, Lilly Jandreau

The award ceremony is going to take place on
Friday, September 15, 2017 at 7 pm
at the Munich Cinematheque (Filmmuseum München), St.-Jakobs-Platz 1

The ceremony is followed by the screening of the award winning film and a live discussion between the director and Werner Herzog.

Limited ticket sales.